REVIEWS: Japanese Music and Drum Master Class in Tokyo

EVENT RATING

(14)

  • Machiko Obikawa

    05/30/2017

    I like how this drum teacher was passionate about the drums and his collection of Japanese instruments. However, it would have been better if we could practice drums more. You offer interesting and unique tours, so I would love to participate if I have enough budget.Thank you very much for your hospitality ;) It was fun playing a Japanese drum for the first time. The host taught us the posture, different rhythms, and 3 ways of ending with passion. He also demonstrated his improvised piece of drums and it was beautiful. He had so many collections of Japanese instruments. What I loved the most was that it took him 3 years to make a perfect sound on the handy Japanese drum. He gave me a life lesson to do anything with passion, otherwise you will never improve anything. It might have been better if there was more Japanese drum practice, but I needed to hear his wise words. So it was a great experience and highly recommended to check this out!!! It might be better to meet up in Ryogoku station than Shibuya actually since it is in the middle of Tokyo and people can easily find Ryogoku I suppose. See moreSee less

  • Debora Avalle

    05/30/2017

    The whole experience was satisfying. I really enjoyed meeting the local host and spending a few hours learning about japanese drums and other instruments. He made us all feel welcome, and we had an amazing time playing the instruments and listening to his stories. I did not enjoy the guide, though. Hopefully he was just trying to be funny and helpful, but to me most of his interactions were just out of place. See moreSee less

  • Beatriz Sandoval

    05/30/2017

    The Wadaiko tour was amazing! Since the beginning our tour guide (Shimon) was very polite, attentive and responsive. The teacher is an experienced musician very passionate about Japanese traditional music. You'll end up with a general idea about so many traditional instruments and also you'll be able to learn the basics about taiko drums. Highly recommended! See moreSee less

  • Norma Pezadilla

    05/30/2017

    It was a great experience, the tour guide was nice and helpful, the host was very happy and his stories were inspiring, it is always nice to meet people that loves what they do in that level. I definitely will try another tours like this. See moreSee less

  • Yu ning Chen

    05/30/2017

    Excellent See moreSee less

  • 林孟瑾

    05/30/2017

    日本の職人精神を了解しました。この体験によって、太鼓についての知識の勉強になりました。 See moreSee less

  • Diana Ubeda

    05/30/2017

    I thought I didn´t have any musical ability, but after being in wadaiko experience, I was able to produce some rhythms, it was a great experience, that I wish everyone who comes to Japan, happens to enjoy. I want my friends to come and visit me, to be able to take them to Wadaiko class. I am sure they would have so much fun with it. Plus the people you get to know are very friendly. See moreSee less

  • Azaria Devina

    Indonesian

    05/30/2017

    Experiencing a WADAIKO PLUS experience from Experience+ ♪~(^o^-) It was a great, fun, first-hand experience of learning Japanese drum (Taiko), taught by the master himself. Not only taiko, we also got chance to see and try some other Japanese music instruments such as Nohkan, Tsuzumi, Horagai, etc. I even tried Shishimai costume! It was really great and worth the try O(≧▽≦)O" See moreSee less

  • Sim.riyait

    Canadian

    05/30/2017

    I had a wonderful experience attending the Japanese Drum lesson tour through WOW Japan. I was invited by a friend and attended the tour with a small group. Our tour guide was exceptional! He provided clear directions of where to meet and we travelled together to our destination. I was provided information via email about the tour ahead of time but our guide went over the information again as we were on our way, which was very helpful. I asked the host a lot of questions and our tour guide did an excellent job of translating my question to Japanese and then translating the answer from Japanese to English. He was very engaged and extremely attentive and helpful throughout the tour. I would highly recommend Experience+. I will definitely be attending there other tours when I return! See moreSee less

  • Azaria Devina

    Indonesian

    06/16/2017

    Experiencing a WADAIKO PLUS experience from Experience+ ♪~(^o^-) It was a great, fun, first-hand experience of learning Japanese drum (Taiko), taught by the master himself. Not only taiko, we also got chance to see and try some other Japanese music instruments such as Nohkan, Tsuzumi, Horagai, etc. I even tried Shishimai costume! It was really great and worth the try O(≧▽≦)O; Thank you for the great experience! Your music really touch our hearts. Keep sharing that passion, youths need to know more about traditional music!; good points: TOTAL experience with not only Taiko but also other Japanese music instruments. Qualified and patient teacher, nice and super friendly guide! See moreSee less

  • Debora Avalle

    06/16/2017

    "I think the local host was amazing and made sure everyone was having a good time and experiencing not only japanese drumming but also many other japanese rare instruments.; Overall the experience was good, but i would certainly change many things. The host was amazing, and made us all feel welcome. Meeting point, not so good. Some of the people joining the experience didn't have a lot of free time, so we would have preferred meeting directly at the taiko rehearsal place, but i don't think that was an option. Also, i believe the guide was trying to help, but some of his comments and behaviour came out as rude and inadequate. Like making jokes to the young girls joining the experience, or interrupting us when we were talking to the host and trying out the instruments.; I just didn't feel comfortable with the guide, and even though the overall experience was good i think i would rather contact the host directly next time.; Meeting a host with such a long and impressive background was amazing. He made us all feel comfortable and relaxed; everyone had a good time even though for most of us it was the first time playing wadaiko. I hope to meet him again!; As I mentioned it before, i guess he did not do it on purpuse, but some of his comments and behaviour came out as rude. If i don't join any other experience it's only because i did not enjoy the guide's company.; Everything was good. I would only change the fact that i received several emails with the same instructions from different people.; The whole experience was satisfying. I really enjoyed meeting the local host and spending a few hours learning about japanese drums and other instruments. He made us all feel welcome, and we had an amazing time playing the instruments and listening to his stories. I did not enjoy the guide, though. Hopefully he was just trying to be funny and helpful, but to me most of his interactions were just out of place." See moreSee less

  • 06/16/2017

    it was a really good experience to experience the traditional music instrument with such a kind, English-speaking host. the experience place is super close to the JR station, not hard to find!; it was a really good experience to experience the traditional music instrument with such a kind, English-speaking host. the experience place is super close to the JR station, not hard to find!; See moreSee less

  • Sim.riyait

    Canadian

    06/16/2017

    The host was simply incredible! We received a warm welcome by the host and he was super excited to have us and not to mention prepared! He had handouts for us about his career and who he was. He is extremely knowledgable about his craft and a true pioneer. After the drum lesson, which I should mention is so much fun, he showed us all of the other instruments and there are a lot! He encouraged us to touch, play and hear the different sounds each instrument made and what it's purpose was. He is very animated and keeps you engaged throughout the lesson. He happily, openly and honestly answered my questions about his career. I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Tokyo! ; The website is confusing and the tour descriptions are not really good compare to the tours themselves.;I had a wonderful experience attending the Japanese Drum lesson tour(edit your name) through WOW Japan (edit the name) I was invited by a friend and attended the tour with a small group. Our tour guide was exceptional! He provided clear directions of where to meet and we travelled together to our destination. I was provided information via email about the tour ahead of time but our guide went over the information again as we were on our way, which was very helpful. I asked the host a lot of questions and our tour guide did an excellent job of translating my question to Japanese and then translating the answer from Japanese to English. He was very engaged and extremely attentive and helpful throughout the tour. I would highly recommend (tour company name). I will definitely be attending there other tours when I return!; See moreSee less

  • Josephine Logo

    Australia

    06/21/2017

    Don't have a bad word to say about this experience or host. It was fun, interactive and very interactive. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to others; This website is a bit frustrating. Communication in the initial booking stage could be improved.;I had a great experience. Roland (my interpreter) was awesome, the vibe within the group dynamic was amazing, which created a comfortable atmosphere allowing for creativity and most of all...FUN!;I used TABICA because there was an experience that I really wanted to be a part of, that I couldn't find anywhere else and that I couldn't facilitate on my own.;Do I have to? This survey is really long...I've almost given up a couple of times, but I had such a good time so... TABICA tours offers an authentic experience with local hosts in a variety of activities. The Taiko drumming experience I was fortunate enough to be a part of, was one of the most incredible and unforgettable experiences I've had so far on my travels. Wadaiko Sai - The talented group of artists that hosted this experience, were so hospitable and engaging, that it was impossible to come out of it, without a glowing smile and a lighter heart. The strenuous workout also provides an avenue for stress relief as well as joyful entertainment. I strongly recommend this experience to all travellers wanting a truly magical experience in Japan. See moreSee less